ASTM International Honors David Bourell with Reinhart Award

ASTM International’s has awarded its 2022 Frank W. Reinhart Award to David Bourell for his contributions to ASTM’s additive manufacturing committee (F42).

Bourell was recognized for indefatigable leadership and outstanding technical contribution that led to the development and publication of the inaugural terminology standard within the field of additive manufacturing: ISO/ASTM 52900, Standard Terminology for Additive Manufacturing.

An ASTM International member since 2009, Bourell is also a longstanding member of ASM International and The Mining, Materials and Metallurgical Society.

Prior to his retirement in 2022, Bourell worked as a Temple Foundation professor at The University of Texas at Austin, a position he held since 1997. He earned his bachelor’s degree of science in mechanical engineering from Texas A&M University (1975), and his master’s of science and Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from Stanford University (1976, 1979).

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602;

Release #11580


December 9, 2022