ASTM International Honors Christine Van Dongen with Top Annual Award

ASTM International presented its top annual award – the 2024 Award of Merit – to Christine Van Dongen for her contributions to ASTM’s sensory evaluation committee (E18). 

The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for distinguished service and outstanding participation in ASTM International committee activities. Van Dongen was recognized for her enduring commitment, openness to others, and unrelenting pursuit of excellent standards, never missing a ballot since joining committee E18.

An ASTM International member since 1989, Van Dongen had been previously honored by the committee with the Award of Appreciation (2001), the Outgoing Chair Award (2011), the committee E18 Award of Merit (2016), the Award of Appreciation (2019), and the David R. Peryam Award (2022).

Van Dongen serves as a Sensory Center Fellow at University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, a position she has held since 2017. In addition to ASTM, she is also a member of the Society of Sensory Professionals. She graduated from Vanderbilt University in 1985 with a Ph.D. in developmental psychology.

Media Inquiries: Gavin O’Reilly, tel +1.610.832.9618;

Release #11778


February 1, 2024