ASTM International Honors Eileen Snyder with 2023 President’s Leadership Award

ASTM International presented its James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award to Eileen Snyder for her significant contributions to ASTM’s environmental risk management committee (E50). 

The President’s Leadership Award recognizes individuals early in their ASTM International career who have significantly advanced ASTM’s mission through extraordinary accomplishment, example, and vision. The award is given in honor of James A. Thomas, who served as ASTM International president from 1992 to 2017. 

Snyder was recognized for her innovation in driving standards on climate, and her enthusiasm for community, outreach, and recruitment of new members to the E50.07 subcommittee. Her efforts and leadership have helped create standards for managing PFAS and other chemicals of concern, as well as a guide for disclosure of environmental, social and governance issues.

An ASTM International member since 2016, Snyder had been previously honored by the committee with the Certificate of Appreciation (2023), the Industry Participation Award (2022), and the Distinguished Service Award (2019).

Snyder is currently the regional technical coordinator for Alpha Analytical, LLC, a position she has held since 2012. She received her bachelor of arts in biology from Wheaton College in 1979, and her master of arts in environmental policy from Tufts University in 1985.

Media Inquiries: Gavin O’Reilly, tel +1.610.832.9618;

Release #11750


December 13, 2023