ASTM International Concrete Pipe Committee Presents Award to William E. Washabaugh

ASTM International’s concrete pipe committee (C13) presented the 2021 Robert R. Liteheiser Award to William E. Washabaugh, president of Northern Concrete Pipe Inc (Bay City, Michigan, USA). Washabaugh was honored for his outstanding work on box culvert and other standards revisions in the committee.

An ASTM International member since 2005, Washabaugh has also been honored with the 2017 Merlin G. “IB” Spangler Award by C13. In addition to C13, where he is a member at large on the executive subcommittee, Washabaugh is a member of the committees on precast concrete products (C27), sustainability (E60), plastic piping systems (F17), and technology and underground utilities (F36). 

Outside ASTM International, Washabaugh is a past chair of the American Concrete Pipe Association (ACPA) (2008 and 2020). He has received the ACPA Mel C. Marshall Award and the ACPA Richard E. Barnes Lifetime Achievement Award.

Washabaugh earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Saginaw Valley State University, University Center, Michigan.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel +1.610.832.9602; 

Release #11313


October 21, 2021