News Releases

ASTM International Committee on Publications Honors Four Members with Charles B. Dudley Award

Printer-friendly version

ASTM International’s committee on publications presented the Charles B. Dudley Award to four members of the medical and surgical materials and devices committee (F04).

The four recipients, A. Seth Greenwald, Steven M. Kurtz, Jack E. Lemons, and William M. Mihalko were recognized for their efforts on the selected technical papers on Metal-On-Metal Total Hip Replacement Devices and on Modularity and Tapers in Total Joint Replacement Devices. These publications are foundational references for adult reconstruction in orthopaedic surgery.

Established in 1925 in commemoration of the organization’s first president, Charles B. Dudley, the award was created to stimulate research leading to standardization, extend knowledge of the specific interests of ASTM International, and to recognize meritorious contributions to ASTM publications.

A. Seth Greenwald, D.Phil.(Oxon), is the director of orthopaedic research laboratories in Cleveland, Ohio. An ASTM International member since 1985, Greenwald serves on the F04 committee on medical and surgical materials and devices and several subcommittees. 

Steven M. Kurtz, Ph.D., is a principal at Exponent Inc. in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. An ASTM International member since 1997, Kurtz participates on multiple F04 subcommittees and is vice chairman of F04.11 on polymeric materials. He has received several awards during his F04 tenure, including the Patrick G. Laing Award, the Leroy Wyman Award, and the Robert E. Fairer Award. 

Jack E. Lemons, Ph.D., is university professor emeritus at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. An ASTM International member since 1974, Lemons has served as chair of the F04 committee and works on multiple F04 subcommittees. He has also received several other ASTM awards, including the Award of Merit, the Robert J. Painter Memorial Award, and the William T. Cavanaugh Award. 

William M. Mihalko, M.D., Ph.D., is professor and J.R. Hyde chair of excellence in biomedical engineering at the Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. An ASTM International member since 2004, Mihalko chairs subcommittee F04.39 on clinical trials and is a past chair of the F04 committee. 

Media Inquiries: Jaime Martorana, tel +1.610.832.9796; 

Release #11139