News Releases

Terry Woods Honored with Top Annual Award from Key ASTM International Committee

Printer-friendly version

ASTM International’s committee on medical and surgical materials and devices (F04) presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to Terry O. Woods, Ph.D., solid mechanics laboratory leader, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories, in Silver Spring, Maryland, USA. The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards.

The committee honored Woods for outstanding leadership and high productivity in fostering the development and promulgation of surgical implant standards in the committee. Woods is also a member of the ASTM International board of directors. 

An ASTM International member since 1994, Woods has previously been honored with the Robert E. Fairer Award (2002), the Leroy Wyman Award (2007), the Certificate of Appreciation (2009), the Award of Appreciation (2011, 2018), and the committee on technical committee operations Service Award (2016).

Woods has held her current position with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration since 1992. She holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate degrees in engineering science and mechanics from the Georgia Institute of Technology. 

In addition to ASTM International, Woods is a member of ISO, the National Academy of Engineering, National Research Council, National Materials Advisory Board Roundtable on Biomedical Engineering Materials and Applications, International Electrotechnical Commission, the American Board of MR Safety, and is an American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering Fellow. 

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602; 

Release #10801