ASTM International Committee Honors Ata Ciechanowski with Top Annual Awards

ASTM International presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to Ata Ciechanowski for his contributions to ASTM International’s plastic piping systems committee (F17).

The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for distinguished service and outstanding participation in its committee activities. An ASTM International member since 1999, Ciechanowski was recognized for many years of faithful work for the committee, spent driving controversial projects forward and overseeing critical changes to standards in order to ensure their accuracy. Beyond his technical expertise, the committee also acknowledged his exceeding courtesy and professionalism.

Committee F17 has previously recognized Ciechanowski with the Certificate of Appreciation (2007), the Special Achievement Award (2012), the Special Service Award (2018), the Paul Finn Memorial Award (2020), and the Frank W. Reinhart and Henry "Butch" Kuhlman Award (2021).

During his 23 years with ASTM, Ciechanowski has worked at NSF in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he has served engineering laboratory director since 2021. After graduating from the University of Tennessee, he also obtained his master of engineering degree in Ann Arbor, from the University of Michigan in 2002.

In addition to ASTM International, Ciechanowski is active in several other organizations related to plastics, such as the American Water Works Association, American Gas Association, and American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602;

Release #11434


June 16, 2022

Source URL: