ASTM International Member Ronald Adamson Honored with H.R. “Russ” Ogden Award

ASTM International’s committee on reactive and refractory metals and alloys (B10) has awarded committee member Ronald Adamson with the 2020 H.R. “Russ” Ogden Award.

Established by the committee in honor of its first chair, the Ogden Award is given for outstanding accomplishments in the science and technology of reactive and refractory metals and alloys. In addition to being a member of Committee B10, Adamson served on ASTM’s Committee on Publications from 2010-2016.

Adamson is an internationally recognized technical expert in performance of zirconium alloys as a component in nuclear reactors. He worked at GE Nuclear Energy’s Vallecitos Nuclear Center for 32 years. There, Adamson was responsible for research, development, performance, and post-irradiation evaluation of BWR bundle components.

A longtime member of the B10 committee, Adamson has been a consultant with Zircology Plus, in Fremont, California, since 2000.

Adamson has published more than 100 peer-reviewed technical papers on technology of zirconium alloys, and has been granted 17 U.S. patents on materials and components used in nuclear reactors.

Among Adamson’s awards and achievements, he has received two ASTM best paper awards, as well as the ASTM/Kroll Institute Kroll Medal for zirconium alloy research and development. He received the ANS Mishima Award for nuclear materials research in 1994 and GE’s International Power Systems Award for outstanding individual achievement in 1994.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602;

Release #11426      


June 10, 2022

Source URL:“russ”-ogden-award