Anthony Thornton Honored with ASTM International Cavanaugh Award

Anthony Wayne Thornton, former member of the ASTM International board of directors, was awarded the William T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award at a ceremony held Oct. 19, during ASTM’s standards development meetings in New Orleans. Joining Thornton at the award ceremony were ASTM International President Kathie Morgan and Cesar Constantino, ASTM’s 2022 board chair.

The Cavanaugh Memorial Award honors W.T. Cavanaugh, CEO of ASTM International from 1970 to 1985. Cavanaugh established ASTM International as the world leader in developing and disseminating voluntary standards.

Thornton’s career has been devoted to particle technology, a field that encompasses a wide range of seemingly dissimilar industries, from metals to foodstuffs, ceramics to pharmaceuticals, plastics to soil. Standardization is crucial to all of these industries.

Thornton has demonstrated his expertise by being a member of 13 different ASTM committees and nearly 100 subcommittees, serving as an officer in many of these.

Thornton is director of technical information and senior technology and applications consultant at Micromeritics Instrument Corporation.

“It is my honor to present Tony with the Cavanaugh Award for his widely-recognized expertise in the particle technology and standardization field,” says Morgan. “In addition to his expertise, Tony’s commitment to the international standards community has resulted in a strong spirit of cooperation among a variety of key global stakeholders. We are grateful for his service.”

Tony has authored or co-authored a number of publications related to particle technology, powder characterization, and development of test methods for particulate materials. His leadership led to a resurgence of ASTM’s particle and spray characterization committee (E29) in the late 1990s. The committee is now recognized as the premier standards development group in the world of powder technology.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel +1.610.832.9602;

Release #11556


October 28, 2022