News Releases

Ned Waltz Honored with Top Annual Award from ASTM International Wood Committee

Printer-friendly version

ASTM International’s wood committee (D07) presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to Ned Waltz, senior engineer of product evaluation and performance at Weyerhaeuser. The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards. 
The committee honored Waltz for significant contributions in the pursuit of safer products, especially in the areas of fundamental test methods and structural systems, and for respected technical expertise, leadership, and professionalism.
An ASTM International member since 2005, Waltz has previously been recognized with the L.J. Markwardt Award (2014). He is also a member of the ASTM International committees on adhesives (D14), plastics (D20), and performance of buildings (E06). He has served as chair of the D07.01.03 subcommittee for wood mechanical testing since 2008 and served six-year terms as both the D07 executive committee secretary and producer vice-chair.
Waltz has worked as a product engineer and senior engineer with Trus Joist and Weyerhaeuser since 1998, where his position includes leadership of structural engineering research laboratory. He previously served as engineer and senior engineer with Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Inc.
Waltz holds bachelor’s degrees in civil/structural engineering and forest science from the University of New Hampshire. He also has master’s degrees in forest products and structural engineering from Oregon State University. 
He is a registered professional engineer in the States of Washington and Idaho. Additionally, Waltz has authored numerous journal articles and hundreds of Weyerhaeuser research reports related to the performance of structural wood products.

Media Inquiries: Dan Bergels, tel+1.610.832.9602;
Release #11094