News Releases

Awards/Member News

ASTM International Honors Mary Helen Sparks with Peter D. Hedgecock Award

ASTM International’s nuclear technology and applications committee (E10) has honored Mary Helen Sparks, consultant with Flanders & Sparks Consulting (Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA), with the Peter D. Hedgecock Award. 

Sparks was recognized for sustained and exceptional contributions to the development and use of consensus standards in the field of nuclear technology and its dosimetry applications within the international community. 

ASTM International Honors Margaret Wilson with Mary R. Norton Scholarship

ASTM International’s metallography committee (E04) has honored Margaret Wilson, graduate student at Dalhousie University, with the Mary R. Norton Scholarship Award for Women.

The $1,000 scholarship encourages women undergraduate seniors or first-year graduate students to pursue the study of physical metallurgy or materials science with an emphasis on the relationship of microstructure to material properties. 

Thomas Szymanski Honored with Top Annual Award from ASTM International Catalyst Committee

Thomas Szymanski was presented with ASTM International’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards – the Award of Merit – by former ASTM Board Chair Taco van der Maten. The prestigious award also includes the title of fellow. Szymanski recently retired as director of new technologies at Saint-Gobain NorPro (Stow, Ohio, USA). 

ASTM International Honors Fred Barnes with Lowrie B. Sargent Jr. Award

ASTM International’s petroleum products, liquid fuels, and lubricants committee (D02) has honored Fred Barnes, aviation fuels consultant (Gig Harbor, Washington, USA) with the Lowrie B. Sargent Jr. Award. 

Barnes was honored for his outstanding leadership in the work of the committee. He was previously honored by the committee with the Award of Excellence, Award of Appreciation, and the Kurt Strauss Steady Hand Award. 

ASTM International Honors Wayne Maynard with Charles H. Irvine Memorial Award

ASTM International’s pedestrian/walkway safety and footwear committee (F13) has honored Wayne S. Maynard, ergonomics and tribology product director, risk control technical services with Liberty Mutual Insurance (Boston, Massachusetts, USA) with the Charles H. Irvine Memorial Award.  

The committee recognized Maynard for exceptional leadership and advocacy for public safety in pedestrian and walkway safety. An ASTM International member since 2002, Maynard is also a member of the consumer products committee (F15). 

Barbara Andree Honored with Top Annual Award from Key ASTM International Committee

ASTM International’s forensics committee (E30) presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to Barbara E. Andree, forensic chemist and management analyst with the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (Walnut Creek, California, USA). The prestigious award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards.

Millard Scott Masteller Honored by ASTM International Magnetic Properties Committee

Dr. Millard Scott Masteller, owner of Masteller Special Materials Consulting LLC in Palm Coast, Florida, USA, was honored with the Frank W. Reinhart Award by ASTM International’s magnetic properties committee (A06).

Chris Noveral Honored with ASTM International James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award

Chris Noveral, senior mechanical engineer, design and engineering with Walt Disney Parks and Resorts in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, USA, was recently awarded the 2019 ASTM International James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award. 

ASTM International Establishes Award Named for Longtime Member Werner Gumpertz

At its twice-yearly meeting, the ASTM International board of directors approved a proposal for a new membership-wide, “society” award in honor of longtime member Werner H. Gumpertz, who died in 2017. Three board members also visited the Simpson Gumpertz & Heger headquarters, located in the city (Boston) where the board meeting was held.

Northrop Grumman’s Harvey Hack Honored with ASTM International 2019 Cavanaugh Award

Harvey P. Hack, Ph.D., Northrop Grumman Fellow with Northrop Grumman’s Undersea Systems received ASTM International’s prestigious William T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award earlier today during the organization’s November standards development meetings in Houston, Texas. 


Subscribe to RSS - Awards/Member News