News Releases

ASTM International Honors Fracture and Fatigue Publication and Authors Barsom and Rolfe

Printer-friendly version

ASTM International honored Manual 41, Fracture and Fatigue Control in Structures: Applications of Fracture Mechanics, with the 2003 Charles B. Dudley Medal. Authors, Dr. John M. Barsom, a Pittsburgh, Pa., based consultant, and Dr. Stanley T. Rolfe, Albert E. Learned Professor of Engineering, University of Kansas, received the award at the April 2005 meeting of ASTM Committee E08 on Fatigue and Fracture.

The E08 committee noted the impact that Barsom and Rolfe have had through their landmark text on the continued growth and application of the technologies of fatigue and fracture mechanics, and the avoidance of many structural catastrophes that would have occurred without the training and guidance in the manual. In addition, the medal recognizes the personal technical contributions that each author has made through their individual research and technical publications in various ASTM forums.

The Dudley Medal was established in 1925 by ASTM International in commemoration of the first president of the Society. The award's purpose is to stimulate research leading to standardization, extend knowledge in a specific field of interest to the Society, and recognize meritorious contributions to the publications of the Society.

Barsom, a consultant in the areas of fracture mechanics, failure analysis, and accident reconstruction, retired after 31 years with the U.S. Steel Corp., where he most recently served as research fellow and chief of the Materials Behavior Division. An ASTM International member since 1969, Barsom is a past chairman of E08, an ASTM Fellow and Award of Merit recipient, and a winner of the ASTM Fracture Mechanics Medal. In addition to his work on E08, he is a member of ASTM Committees A01 on Steel, Stainless Steel and Related Alloys and F07 on Aerospace and Aircraft.

Author of more than 80 technical papers on fracture, fatigue, environmental effects, steel and metal weld properties, and performance of structural connections, Barsom is also a Fellow of ASM International, the American Welding Society, and of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He is a member of the National Construction Safety Team Advisory Committee and the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) Committee on Specifications and has received the AISC Lifetime Achievement Award.

Barsom holds a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering, an M.S. in mathematics, and a B.S. in physics from the University of Pittsburgh.

Rolfe, who joined ASTM International in 1962 and serves on the E08 committee, has for the past 30 years taught and conducted research on the fracture and fatigue behavior of materials, experimental stress analysis, fracture mechanics, and behavior of structural materials as related to the design of structures. An ASTM Fracture Mechanics Medal recipient, he has published more than 70 technical papers on fracture, fatigue, and behavior.

He received the Irvin E. Youngberg Research Award from the University of Kansas and the University of Illinois College of Engineering Alumni Honor Award for distinguished service in engineering.

A registered professional engineer in Pennsylvania and Kansas and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, Rolfe is an honorary member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, and he has been recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Institute of Steel Construction. He holds a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of Illinois.


Release #7181