News Releases

ASTM International Honors Clifford Warner with Patrick G. Laing Award

Printer-friendly version

ASTM International’s medical and surgical materials and devices committee (F04) presented the Patrick G. Laing Award to Dr. Clifford Warner, senior principle engineer at W.L. Gore and Associates. 

The committee honored Dr. Warner for his significant and outstanding contributions to the committee in developing standards for medical and surgical devices.

An ASTM International member since 2003, Dr. Warner has previously been recognized with the Robert E. Fairer Award (2009). He is also a member of the ASTM International committee on corrosion of metals (G01).

Dr. Warner has served in his current position with the fuel cell team at W.L. Gore and Associates since 2019, having previously worked in the medical products division since 2001, and the fabrics division from 1997 to 2001. He held a position at IBM before joining W.L. Gore and Associates in 1997. He holds a bachelor’s degree and doctoral degree in materials science and engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.

In addition to ASTM International, Dr. Warner is a member of the Shape Memory and Super Elastic Society, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and American Society for Materials. 

Media Inquiries: Jaime Martorana, tel+1.610.832.9796;

Release #11166