News Releases

ASTM International Honors Bala Muralikrishnan with James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award

Printer-friendly version

Bala Muralikrishnan, mechanical engineer for the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), was recently awarded the 2020 ASTM International James A. Thomas President’s Leadership Award.

The President’s Leadership Award recognizes individuals early in their ASTM International career who have significantly advanced ASTM’s mission through extraordinary accomplishment, example, and vision. The award is given in honor of James A. Thomas, who served as ASTM International president from 1992 to 2017. 

A member of ASTM International since 2014, Muralikrishnan is being recognized for his successful leadership and productive service to the ASTM International committee on 3D imaging systems (E57). 

Muralikrishnan has been with NIST since 2004, serving in his current position since 2015. He previously served as a metrology engineer with Tropel Corporation before joining NIST. Muralikrishnan holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology and a master’s degree and doctoral degree in mechanical engineering from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Media Inquiries: Jaime Martorana, tel+1.610.832.9796; 

Release #11148