News Releases

ASTM Committee F08 Hulse Memorial Award Given to Randy Swart

Printer-friendly version

Randy Swart, director of the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute in Arlington, Va., has received the ASTM International William F. Hulse Memorial Award. ASTM Committee F08 on Sports Equipment and Facilities honored Swart for his "outstanding contributions to the development, promotion and use of voluntary full consensus standards that enhance safety in sports and recreation."

Swart is a resident of Arlington, Va.

Involved with F08 activities since 1991, Swart works on Subcommittee F08.10 on Bicycles and Subcommittee F08.53 on Headgear and Helmets, where he is vice chairman.

Since 1989, Swart has been director of the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute, a nonprofit organization that serves as a consumer advocacy program and a technical resource for bicycle helmet information. He previously had been a loan officer for the Export-Import Bank of the United States, a foreign service officer for the U.S. Department of State, and a staff member for U.S. Senator Thomas Kuchel (R-CA).

Swart holds a B.A. in foreign affairs from George Washington University in Washington, D.C.


Release #7570